- The international city of Knowledge

The Innovation Circle

— Presentation

The Innovation Circle is right in the heart of Greater Geneva !

The Innovation Circle is part of the Greater Geneva urban area project, as well as several Franco-Swiss studies and partnerships rolled out since 1993, such as :

  • The Franco-Genevan Regional Committee white paper (1993) and its development charter (1997),
  • The Geneva International airport and the cross-border region master plan (1997-2002),
  • The Golden Rectangle multidisciplinary studies (2002-2007), scope of city mixed development zones (PACA region)

Covering 35k sq. m, the Innovation Circle is located to the north of Greater Geneva. It combines the major economic advantages of a metropolitan area (the airport and its international facilities, the CERN, the international organisations in Geneva, Meyrin-Satigny industrial estate, etc.) with new focal points (Porte de France, Ferney Grand Saconnex and Tête GVA strategic development projects, etc.).

The Innovation Circle offers an economic and spatial strategy with focal points linked by a bus service, and eventually by a tramway.

The strategy aiming to support the Innovation Circle and make the project operational is based on a series of recent studies examining the urban area’s economic situation. However, it is also based on research looking into the development of major European metropolitan areas in the context of globalisation.

The area covered by the Innovation Circle
The area covered by the Innovation Circle

 

 

The Innovation Circle’s facilities

  • The international district (36 international organisations including the UN and the WTO, 250 non-governmental organisations including the ICRC, the international air transport association and some of the 165 national representatives in Geneva. These organisations employ 40,000 international diplomats and officials and 2,400 NGO employees.
  • Geneva-Cointrin international airport with over 13 million passengers per year. The airport is in the middle of a business park including convention centres, exhibition centres, hotels and services as well as the majority of the 600 multinationals and subsidiaries of multinationals operating in Geneva. 9,500 people are employed directly by the airport and the number of indirect jobs created is estimated at 44,000.
  • The CERN, the European organisation for nuclear research, located in Switzerland and in Pays de Gex, is one of the biggest fundamental research laboratories in the world. It employs 2,300 permanent staff, 980 contractors and hosts 10,000 researchers each year. Around 4,000 external service providers work on the site.
  • ZIMEYSA (Meyrin Satigny industrial estate): Geneva’s main business park with 560 businesses.
  • St Genis Pouilly Technopark : 40 hectares, 104 businesses and 1,100 jobs
Geneva International Airport
Geneva International Airport

 

 

Economic strategy and planning

An economic strategy for the Innovation Circle is currently being drawn up. Several basic principles have been agreed :

  • Priority should be given to endogenous development in industries with strong potential : international trade, the knowledge economy, chemistry-pharmaceutics and biotechnologies, microtechnologies, etc.
  • Cross-border pooling of business hosting services.
  • Regional relations which extend both sides of the border
  • Smart city : Innovation and creativity, including in services, better mobility rights, paperless communications
  • A host area for economic activity
Atlas - CERN
Atlas – CERN

 

 

 6 programming objectives

Various programming objectives have been identified in order to determine what action needs taking to secure the Innovation Circle’s economic strategy.

  1. Improving the hosting facilities for businesses, visitors, tourists but also students, given the latter will “portray the image and lead projects of the future”.
  2. Pooling, improving and clarifying services supporting the endogenous development of small, innovative businesses: funding, human resources, support for exporting and innovation, regional promotion, support for property, etc. These should all progressively become cross-border services.
  3. Facilitating access to services, particularly through the international dimension. But also improve them where required.
  4. Building on industries which are gathering momentum to secure a “creative intelligence region”: “Clustering”, in other words bringing together businesses in the same sector and making links to R&D and higher education, schooling, culture, relations with regional and European networks, etc.
  5. Increasing all types of paperless communications for activities such as trade and finance, multiplying the “gateways” for paperless flows, driving communications security
  6. Increasing environmental innovations in regional planning

 

3 strategic development foci

  • High-tech industries, which are already expanding, based on advanced training and innovation development processes, but also what the CERN can help to generate
  • The knowledge economy, facilitated through the presence of the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) and the International Exhibition of Inventions
  • International trade of raw materials, an area in which Geneva is one of the world leaders, taking advantage of the presence of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) and the Geneva Trading & Shipping Association (GTSA)

- Cité internationale des Savoirs

Le cercle de l’innovation

— Présentation

Au cœur du Grand Genève, le cercle de l’innovation !

Le Cercle de l’innovation s’inscrit dans le projet d’agglomération franco-valdo-genevois du Grand Genève, ainsi que dans plusieurs études et partenariats franco-suisses mis en oeuvre depuis 1993, tels que :

  • Livre blanc du Comité Régional Franco Genevois (1993) et sa charte d’aménagement (1997),
  • Plan directeur de l’Aéroport international de Genève et sa région transfrontalière (1997-2002),
  • Etudes pluridisciplinaires du Rectangle d’or (2002-2007), périmètres d’aménagement concertés d’agglomération (PACA)

D’une superficie totale de 35 km², le territoire du Cercle de l’innovation, se situe au Nord du Grand Genève. Il réunit les grands atouts économiques de la métropole (l’aéroport et ses équipements internationaux, le CERN, les organisations internationales de Genève, la ZIMEYSA…) et de nouvelles polarités (Porte de France, PSD Ferney Grand Saconnex, PSD Tête GVA…).

Le Cercle de l’innovation propose une stratégie économique et une stratégie spatiale avec des polarités reliées par une ligne de bus structurante, puis à terme par un tramway périphérique.

La stratégie visant à conforter et rendre opérationnel le Cercle de l’Innovation s’appuie sur une série d’études récentes détaillant la situation économique de l’agglomération. Mais aussi sur des travaux de recherche étudiant l’évolution des grandes métropoles européennes dans le contexte de la mondialisation.

Territoire du Cercle de l'innovation
Territoire du Cercle de l’innovation

  

 

Les équipements présents dans le Cercle de l’innovation :

  • Le quartier des organisations internationales (36 organisation internationales dont l’ONU et l’OMC, 250 organisations non gouvernementales dont le CICR ou l’association du transport aérien international, et une partie des 165 représentations d’Etats étrangers à Genève. Ces organisations emploient 40 000 diplomates et fonctionnaires internationaux et 2 400 employés des ONG.
  • L’aéroport international de Genève-Cointrin avec plus de 13 millions de passagers par an. L’aéroport est au centre d’un pôle d’activités comprenant centres de congrès, halles d’exposition, hôtellerie et services ainsi qu’un grande partie des 600 multinationales et filiales de multinationales présentes à Genève. 9500 personnes sont employées directement par l’aéroport, les emplois induits étant estimés à 44 000.
  • Le CERN, organisation européenne pour la recherche nucléaire, situé en Suisse et dans le Pays de Gex, est un des plus grands laboratoires de recherche fondamentale du monde. Il emploie 2 500 permanents et reçoit chaque année 8 000 scientifiques. Environ 4 000 prestataires extérieurs sont présents sur le site.
  •  La ZIMEYSA (zone industrielle Meyrin Satigny) : principale zone d’activités du canton de Genève avec 560 entreprises
  •  Le Technoparc de St Genis Pouilly : 40 hectares, 104 entreprises et 1 100 emplois
Aéroport international de Genève
Aéroport international de Genève

 

 

La stratégie économique et la programmation

Une stratégie économique du territoire du Cercle de l’innovation est en cours d’élaboration. Plusieurs principes de base ont été déterminés :

  • Une priorité au développement endogène dans les secteurs à fort potentiel : négoce et commerce international, économie de l’immatériel, chimie-pharmacie et biotechs, microtechniques, etc.
  • La mutualisation transfrontalière des services d’accueil d’entreprises
  • Des relations territoriales élargies, de part et d’autre de la frontière
  • Ville intelligente : Innovation et créativité, y compris dans les services, droit renforcé à la mobilité, dématérialisation des échanges
  • Un territoire d’accueil d’activités économiques
Atlas - CERN
Atlas – CERN

 

 

6 objectifs programmatiques 

Afin de déterminer les actions à mettre en oeuvre pour concrétiser la stratégie économique du Cercle de l’innovation, des objectifs programmatiques ont été identifiés.

  1. Renforcer les fonctions d’accueil touchant les entreprises, les visiteurs, les touristes mais aussi les étudiants, ces derniers étant « porteurs d’image et de projets pour l’avenir »
  2. Mutualiser, rendre plus lisible et renforcer les services d’appui au développement endogène des petites et moyennes entreprises innovantes : financement, ressources humaines, aide à l’export, aide à l’innovation, promotion des territoires, aides à l’immobilier… Autant de services qui doivent progressivement devenir transfrontaliers
  3. Faciliter l’accès aux services, notamment à travers la dimension internationale. Mais aussi les renforcer, en cas de faiblesses
  4. En prenant appui sur des secteurs où les énergies se mobilisent, conforter un «territoire d’intelligences créatives»: «Clusterisation», autrement dit rapprochement entre entreprises d’une même filière et mise en relations avec R&D et enseignement supérieur, éducation, culture, relations avec les réseaux régionaux et européens…
  5. Accentuer toutes les formes de dématérialisation des échanges dans les activités telles que le négoce et la finance, multiplier les «portes d’entrées» pour les flux dématérialisés, être moteur dans la sécurisation des échanges
  6. Multiplier les innovations environnementales dans la gestion des territoires

 

3 axes de développement

  • Les secteurs de technologies de pointe déjà en croissance, basé sur des formations de pointe et des processus de développement des innovations, mais aussi ce que le CERN peut aider à générer
  • L’économie de l’Immatériel  facilité par la présence de l’Office Mondial de la Propriété Intellectuelle(OMPI) et du Salon Mondial des Inventions
  • Le négoce international des matières premières, dont Genève est une des premières mondiale, et bénéficiant de la présence de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce(OMC) et de la Geneva Trading & Shipping Association (GTSA)